Sunday, March 18, 2012

Well I am no longer in London, and that fact has caused me to cry a couple of times since I left (all of which I did in private when I was not around anyone because that is not a sight worth seeing).

3/14/12-3/15/12

Yes two days are going to be counted as one and they are not even the weekend!  Wednesday and Thursday were probably the two least eventful days that I had spent in London, and remember there were some Sundays that I had spent 13 hours sleeping! I'm not saying that a lot didn't get done, but the days were so boring!! Each morning we had class with Natania, Thursday being our very last class all together, and in both classes we discussed Virgina Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway. The rest of the days were then spent working on the final papers we all had to do for both Andrew and Natania. The topics I picked for each were:

Andrew's-The Historical Narratives of Hampton Court Palace as Created by Historic Royal Palaces.
Natania's- Symbols of Evil and Gender Portrayed in The Devil and Mr. Punch and Heresy of Love.

It took me a shocking amount of time to write each of them but they were both done on time!!

No pictures of these day, you wouldn't have wanted to see pictures anyway, it was kind of sad how little I did and saw...

3/16/12

Friday. The day both finals were due. The day all packing needed to be done. The day of the final dinner hosted by ACM. The last full day we all spent in London. I was a little depressed the whole day at the thought of never being able to see Earl's Court again. I basically spent the day making final additions and edits to my papers and packing my bags.

That night we also had a dinner all together hosted by ACM and when I got to it I was so hungry that I swear I was about to eat a candle because they waited FOREVER to bring the food out!! I hadn't eaten all day which you probably would think would keep me from drinking and being a light weight but no. The only thing they had out for about 45 minutes was wine and I needed something in my stomach so I think I had about 5 glasses before I was finally able to eat. I don't think that I was the only one who either
A) Had drank on an empty stomach
or
B) Had A LOT to drink period.

The night became pretty epic as just about everyone decided to get up and dance. Natania started this little dance party and was soon accompanied by Neil (her husband) which eventually led to the majority of people joining, including Fabio and Andrew!! Let me tell you! Seeing Andrew dance was the highlight of my week! And not only does Andrew dance, he sings too!!! Oh deary he was having a great night!

Jenna and I did not dance (even though this girl is the best dancer I have ever seen...) and so we went downstairs and I bought us a jug (that's right a jug) of Sangria. It was delicious but I sadly did not get to drink much because Fabio spilled a bunch of mine as he was hugging me goodbye.

After a little while nobody was able to dance since they were apparently causing a ruckus (I am sorry but I cannot describe the ruckus) and the wine store downstairs was complaining that the bottles of wine were going to start falling off of the shelves if we did not stop.

It was a good final night in London, but I wish it could have lasted longer.

3/17/12

I am very happy to report that I did not have to wake up at 3:30 in the morning this time in order to catch a plane to a foreign country. This time it was 6:30 and it was to catch a train, to Paris!

I am going to be totally honest here. None of us were in a good mood for a good chunk of this day. We had to drag our bags with us everywhere. Hannah and I each had two suitcases and a backpack and Jenna had her one suitcase and backpack. We had to take the tube (last ride we took on the tube, sad day) to King's Cross St. Pancras to catch our train to Paris. It was a two hour ride and by the time we got on the train we were all disgustingly hot and so it was an uncomfortable ride. When we finally got to the train station in Paris (Gare du Nord) we had to find a map so we knew which direction we had to in to our hotel. The map did not help a whole lot and we ended up walking for a good 20 minutes in the WRONG DIRECTION!! We were all getting a little peeved, but Jenna (the eternal optimist) kept us all in good spirits and we continued on our way and after only 45 more minutes found our hotel, Hotel Bervic, located on a tiny little street completely hidden from the world.

The Hotel isn't the most exciting thing to look at but the one man that we have met that works here is really sweet and gives us candy and calls us angels. I realize saying all of this can sound really creepy to people on the outside but trust me he is not creepy, and we would know we have run into a few creepy people since we have been here.

Our room is kind of small, but there is room enough for the three of us and with a little work our luggage fits in here as well.




The view from our room isn't too bad either. We are far away from almost all famous monuments so we can't see those from our Hotel, but hey we are only a 10 minute walk from Sacre Coeur, and we will be seeing that soon, so that is awesome!

We didn't do a whole lot this first night. When we got to hotel at last we were all pretty tired and kind of sore so the only thing we really HAD to do was go find food! Which we did! We started by getting dinner at a fast food place, we found a French fast food joint and decided to try that one. Let me tell ya, fast food is one thing the French do not do well. I'm not saying the food was not eatable or just nasty, it was pretty ok, but I don't think I am ever going to have a craving for a Quick Burger ever again.

After we ate we went and found a grocery store to get some food for lunches for the next couple of days. We decided on bread, butter, and an assortment of cheeses. We don't have a fridge tho. This stuff will last alright in room temperature right? haha, oh well.

3/18/12

We slept 12 hours! We were planning on 10 which sounded like a lot to us but nobody wanted to get out of bed this morning, so it turned into 12. It turned out just fine though! It turned out to be a really rainy day today, so everything we had planned to do would have been miserable anyway.

We turned out to actually have a pretty great day. Hannah's mom wanted us to go check out an antique flea market about 30 minutes away from us and so that's what we spent the early afternoon trekking to. It was a bit of a chore to get there but when we did it was worth it. So many awesome things were there and I just wish I had the money to afford these beautiful items!!

We had lunch at the market, which consisted of bread and butter and cheese. Sounds bland and blah but I rather enjoyed it.


We did find some awesome stuff and one little booth had some items for a decent enough price, I was even able to get a souvenir or two... 

It really doesn't sound like we did a whole lot today but it felt like a full and rewarding day to me. I am just so excited to be in Paris that the rude people, the streets that smell like urine, and the fact that we have no food to eat for breakfast tomorrow are all not affecting me and stressing me out like it normally should. Even the fact that we sat in a restaurant for an extra hour tonight after dinner because the waiter wouldn't bring us our check didn't bother me like it normally would. I am so strangely happy to be here that I had a good 15 minute laughing fit tonight about something that really wasn't that funny. But hey, I guess Paris agrees with me.










No comments:

Post a Comment