Sunday, February 19, 2012

I have been so lazy!! There are relevant excuses though!! I won't go into details but I am pretty stressed out lately about homework and summer research/internships and a possible job over the summer and then surgery has to be fit in there somewhere. It is going to be a long and stressful summer. For now, however, I am going to try with all of my might to enjoy where I am, although the time is going by way too fast!!

Anywho, I am going to fit these last few days into this one blog entry, because I can because I have been lazy lately and so even with five days all in the same post it will still be shorter than a majority of my other posts. Sorry to disappoint people!





2/15/12

Day after Valentines Day! Yay, finally that wretched day is over, ok I will be nice, it really wasn't too bad! I really wish that I could remember more from this day, or any day for that matter, I really need to write these day of, everyone who knows me knows I have the worst memory ever. Getting off track tho.. This day started with class. As usual I did NOT want to wake up, but was happy that I did since class was actual fun and we got to discuss Taming of the Shrew with Hannah and Alex leading the discussion, and then Heresy of Love with Jenna and Alyssa taking the lead. I probably mentioned this in a previous post but you all need to see these plays!! And no watching 10 Things I Hate About You does not count as Taming of the Shrew, although I will admit that it is one awesome movie!!

Not too much more happened then, Jenna and I had to go buy shoes, I didn't find any but did manage to get sick and almost pass out on the streets of London, because my body loves me! When we got back I took a mini nap and woke up in time for dinner. Jack made pesto chicken pasta, it was amazing!

After dinner we kicked Jack out of the room because it was GIRLS NIGHT!! We celebrated Valentines Day a day late with lots of wine, chocolate, and junk food!!


We had a good night!! Nobody was too excited though when we remembered that we had to wake up early the next day for a tour of Westminster Abbey.






2/16/12

Woke up much better than I had thought I would! Somehow with everyone leaving the flat on time, however, we ended up being late to the Abbey and saw Andrew loosing his temper for the first time! It was a little scary but good since we then also were able to witness everyone on their very best behavior so as to not push him any further past his limit.

The Abbey was so great!!! I loved it so much and was kind of geeking out when I got inside. Sadly I could not take any pictures in the Abbey itself but I got some of the hall leading to the Abbey. So exciting I know...


Inside a little side room where jobs and punishments were given to the monks



I wish that I could have taken pictures inside of the Abbey, I myself need the proof so that I can comprehend the fact that I was standing just feet from the tomb of Sir Isaac Newton, I was standing over the body of Charles Darwin, and I was in the same room as Elizabeth I and Mary I, I WAS IN THE SAME ROOM AS THE BODY OF BLOODY MARY!!! I just cannot believe that this is happening to be. I do not understand what I did right in my life to end up here. And so much more awesomeness is to come. It is going to be legend, wait for it... dary!!

When I got back from the Abbey I was absolutely terrible and took a nap, a really long one too. I slept until my lovely friends woke me up because we had to go see another play, this one called the Trial of Ubu. I don't want to deter anyone from ever going to see this play, lets just say it was not my cup of tea, maybe one step further, I almost fell asleep during the performance. If the play is ever by you though do not let this critique make up your mind about going. This performance was done so much different than it ever had been and it was just not effective for me.






2/17/12

Well it was Friday so that was good. The day started with class yet again. We discussed the Sea Plays that we had seen on the 14th and the Trial of Ubu that we had seen the night before. I have to say people here found some great things to say about them, even though I am pretty sure they were the least favorite plays of everyone on this trip.

I was so lazy again pretty much this entire day. It was so bad that I do not remember anything that I did, which probably means that I took a nap... again. That night was pretty great though! After literally hours of convincing Jenna finally got me to agree to go out to a Pub/Club with her. If any of my friends or my dad are reading this I am sure they are completely shocked that I did not want to go out to a pub but let me just say I was tired and I was a little cranky, so there. But I did go out and I had quite a lot of fun.








As you can tell from the pictures a majority of us are very sober. Can you tell which one of us was tipping back a few more than the rest? Hint: It wasn't me! Getting back to our apartment after this night out was much more difficult than going out. The underground was closed and so we had to maneuver our way through the city bus system. That didn't go too well.




We were getting a little flustered, and some of us had to use the toilet, and it was a two hour trip. Not the best late night adventure yet, but we finally made it home and I was able to crawl into my bed and just sleep.






2/18/12-2/19/12

Laziest London weekend yet! We were all so bad and the only time I left the flat was to go with Jenna and Lizzie to get groceries so we could have dinner that night. Besides that the weekend was mostly sleeping until 2 doing research for a paper that is due Tuesday and eating. Oh wait, I did have a few panic attacks as I searched for more summer research opportunities, of which I found none because I am a religion major and all research opportunities out there are for the sciences, so yippie me.

Finally tonight (Sunday) there was a little bit of adventure when the fire alarm went off, and most of us just kind of looked at each other stupidly because we didn't know what to do. Finally we made our way outside but were stopped when a very attractive man came downstairs to shut off the alarm and let us know that everything was ok, there was just a woman cooking on the first floor and caused a little bit of smoke. Thank goodness for that but that was not the end of our adventure. We had opened the door to the outside when we thought we needed to flee for our lives and found a girl with some luggage standing outside looking scared. Lizzie tried to help her and find out what she was doing but when she started crying we kind of figured that something was a little off. Well lucky for us Jack came to our rescue and discovered that the girl is French and does not speak much English. This basically means she was probably crying because crazy Americans were laughing hysterically because of a false alarm fire alarm and she had no idea what was happening to her. Oops to the stupid Americans.

The night finally has calmed down and I am going to be closing the night with more research for my paper and preparing for my presentation for tomorrow. Wish me luck!











No comments:

Post a Comment